Go Away, I’m Not Ready

Acts 24:22-26

Although I was born and brought up in a Christian household, for the longest time I didn’t want to give my life to Jesus. Christians seemed too boring and restricted and I felt like I’d miss too much out of life If I became one. So I had it all planned out; I would do everything I wanted to do while I’m young, and then when I turn 50 or something, I would give my life to Christ so I’d go to heaven when I die. Win-win, right?

From the above scripture, we see that Governor Felix had knowledge about Christianity. Scripture says “He had a more accurate knowledge” (v22). He and his wife even came to seek out Paul to hear about Jesus Christ. However, after hearing Paul speak about righteousness, self control and the judgement to come, he became afraid, and so he said “Go away for now, when I have a convenient time I will call for you” (v25).

It is the same with a lot of people today. They have heard the gospel, They know about Jesus. They’ve listened to teachings, they have the head knowledge, but the thought of surrendering and living for Jesus terrifies them.

So they say,

go away, I’m not ready.

I don’t have the time repent.

I’m not ready to embrace righteousness and self control.

Hold on to your gospel please, there’s still so much for me in the world.

Keep your Jesus aside, I cant surrender to Him right now.

Leave me alone, now is not a convenient time for me to become ‘radical’.

When I’m old, tired of the world, and have taken of all life has to offer, I will call for you.”

There is no record that Felix eventually found a “convenient” time to repent. He most likely missed his chance. This is the story of so many. Many people have been lost because they “set aside” the gospel for a later date. They thought they would have the opportunity to turn to it on their own terms, but nobody knows tomorrow.

“Seek the Lord while He can be found, call upon His name while He is near” (Isaiah 55:6). Please do not defer your repentance, you may never get another chance.

Leave a comment